Bioshock PC Demo is Out…kind of

20 08 2007

Update 21/8/07 – 07:15 GMT:

Well, many hours have gone past and the file still hasn’t appeared on fileplanet and my download from the site below has failed a couple of times. The torrent is still heavily oversubscribed but is beginning to shift towards a favorable position.

20/8 – 17:30 GMT: 348 Seeds vs 4541 Peers (13 to 1)
20/8 – 22:00 GMT: 490 vs 5787 (11.8 to 1)
21/8 – 07:15 GM: 1230 vs 5142 (4.2 to 1)

I’m at 31.1% completed but my uploads have been hammered at 222.1% of the file size. Hopefully I’ll be playing the demo by the time I get home tonight.

Well, the Bioshock PC demo is out, but you wouldn’t know it from looking at fileplanet.com which has been headlining the hosting of it.

Today any reference to the demo is mysteriously missing from the site, and even searching fails to bring any result (at least for me). This leads me to the conclusion that fileplanet is struggling to meet demand from their own paying users, so have closed off access to everyone else.

But don’t be too concerned, you can download it in the conventional way from here or do it via the torrent here.

I’ve got both running at the moment until I see which one is faster. The torrent is heavily loaded (348 seeds to 4541 peers (that’s 13-1)) but this could swing in the next few hours as more users finish the download. The direct download is heavily loaded too though. In the last few hours about 30,000 downloads have occured, that’s 54,000GB. Nice.

As we move into the US evening, the demand is going to get even higher, so I’d recommend you get in while you still can.


Actions

Information

3 responses

21 08 2007
Fimlys

I downloaded the demo last night and installed it on my dv9500t this morning. Couldn’t install the new nvidia beta drivers though (I have the 8600gs). Unfortunately, it seems to need them as the game crashed just after the “BIOSHOCK” logo after starting a new game.. I might try turning down all the “effects” and see if it runs..

21 08 2007
Pete

Hey, thanks for the comment. What do you mean by “couldn’t install the new… drivers”? Do they just fail to run?

I would search the nvidia forums for anyone who’s experiencing the same problem.

Good luck with getting it working. If possible, I’d love to hear your experience of the demo on your machine (assuming you get it working) with framerates if possible. If you’re interested in writing a guest post, just drop me a mail.

21 08 2007
Fimlys

I mean it says “Your card is not supported in these drivers” or something to that effect. The new beta drivers are not for portable graphics I believe. Supposedly it is just to increase frame rates so the failure to get into the game is a different issue. I am going to try some other stuff like “run as administrator” and such. Checking file permissions, etc. I also pre-ordered the game from Steam (waiting until 4pm EDT.. argh..)

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a comment