HP Should Bundle Gaming PC with Crysis

17 08 2007

Even though this site is still in it’s infancy, I like to think that there’s a chance that someone within HP who has responsibility for marketing or business development will read my thoughts (and maybe offer me a relocation!)

HP have been struggling in their desktop division (public knowledge) because there are very slim margins. It traditionally has relied on it’s brand selling PC’s, but this doesn’t work for the majority of gamers.

However, I would argue that gamers do value the HP brand and would like to own an HP PC, if they felt they were getting value for money and that HP was actually considering their thoughts, opinions and values.

I’ve been harping on about HP needing a few new PC’s focussed on gamers. Hundreds of thousands of gamers around the world are waiting to buy a new PC for the Vista/Directx 10 generation, they’re just waiting for the right reason. For a huge proportion of that group, Crysis is that reason.

For those living in a cave, Crysis is a FPS, AAA PC only title from the makers of Far Cry. It is by far the most anticipated PC title of 2007 (due in November in time for Christmas).

So what do I think HP should do?

(1) Build a high end desktop PC for $2499. Feature the best dual-core CPU, top quality RAM, at least 400GB HD in raid, a decent widscreen LCD and an 8800 GTX.

(2) Talk to EA and bundle Crysis in for free, it’s a low cost to bear compared to the cost of the machine.

(3) This is the key point, you might say a USP (unique selling point). Benchmark Crysis on the machine and advertise excellent framerates.

A new gaming PC will make news, bundling Crysis will put it right out there and providing benchmark results will be revolutionary.

HP love their margins and for good reason (after all I am a shareholder). You can get them, you just have to think slightly outside the box.


Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2007
HP Announces New Gaming PC - Blackbird 002 « HP Gaming Blog

[…] with liquid cooling on both CPU and each GPU, custom side panel, a game bundle (that sounds like a good idea) including the ‘Orange Box’ Half Life series, 3 month trial of GFW Live and Windows […]

17 05 2012
2012 Tax Brackets

Agreed, but the drones will never accept this, lee. If I take a huge risk and “invest the whole farm”, I can lose or win. If I lose all my money, nobody cares. If I “win”, people expect me to give it all away to people who had no skin in the game.

Leave a comment